About John Fletcher 1579-1625
John Fletcher, the English dramatist was born in Rye, Sussex, the third son of a clergyman who later became a Bishop of London. Fletcher collaborated with several playwrights including Shakespeare, Beaumont, Massinger, and Rowley. Fletcher was closely associated with Beaumont and their dramatic works compiled in 1647 contained 35 pieces' another folio published in 1679 - 52 works. Modern research finds Beaumont's hand in only about 10 plays - the rest therefore attributed to Fletcher. A group has set up to bring renaissance productions to Rye which celebrate the life of John Fletcher. See www.fletchertheatre.co.uk for latest events and more details.
History of the Building
Fletchers House was the old Vicarage, wholly or partly rebuilt in 1707. The architecturally stunning south front of Fletcher's - sadly long lost to view - dating from the late 1400's, and contemporary with the much acclaimed St Anthony's on the other side of the Churchyard, faced the North Door of the Church across an area of open ground, possibly part of the Churchyard, at the head of Lion Street. At its centre is an important Tudor doorway ornamented with carved York and Tudor Roses and foliage. All trace of the door has been covered in the present interior, but it is certainly thought that Dr Richard Fletcher would have gone to reach St Marys. (extracted from research by Rye Local History Group)
"The Fletcher's Ghost"
Pete have heard but not seen "the Fletcher's Ghost", but over the years many have felt the presence and described an old man dressed in Victorian top hat and tails. When the man disappears he leaves behind tiny dots in primary colours which slowly disperse. This is apparently a sign of a good spirit rather than a poltergeist.